EIVISSA
December 5, 2011, 3:47 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Where do I begin? One day I was lurking the Gotta Dance Dirty blog when they had posted a mix that was really hard for me not to download. Because usually when a dj puts out a mixtape I kind of just skim and jump thru the mix but for some reason I didn’t do it when I heard the Touch Down Mixtape by MIGHTYFOOLS. The dj that created it ended up being a dj duo from the Netherlands and had produced legit electronic singles. I mean it’s very hard for me to actually like a dj with great producing skills as well as mixing a great one hour mix. So I went more into researching about the dj duo and they happened to become my favorite dj duo of 2011. It was really crazy because yeah, it’s like basic “european” electro but I really dig every single track the boys in MIGHTYFOOLS create.

Okay, so let’s start off with how I found out about this show. I was laying in bed last Monday as I began to lurk Facebook on my iPhone. Dim Mak had posted an event that said MIGHTYFOOLS were going to be spinning at Drais in Hollywood. And I sat there wishing they would come to San Francisco instead. Turns out when I was scrolling down further that they had gotten booked to spin at EPR the following day. So of course I started getting excited because not only have I never seen them live, but more on the fact that they’re from the Netherlands and I don’t think they have ever been to San Francisco. I immediately texted my friend Stephanie and asked her to go with me because I haven’t seen her in a really long time. And the fact that her boyfriend knew who they were got me really excited because I didn’t really expect people to really listen to them because they aren’t that big in America. But the night turned out amazing, I don’t think I have ever gotten that excited for a dj, or in this case dj’s to come to San Francisco. I think the last time I got extremely overwhelmed with joy was when JUSTICE came to SF like 3 years ago. I guess it’s just something about european dj’s when they come to my hometown. But it was rather bitter sweet, because I don’t really like Electro Pop Rocks because of the crowd. However it was all about supporting the main act of the night, rather than complain about 16 year olds rolling on drugs on a Wednesday night. Not to mention I had class the next day at 8:30 and literally got home at 5 am. In all honesty I haven’t had that much fun at a club in a really long time. Made me feel like I was 15 again when I first went to blow up at the rickshaw.

Andy and Jelle were very sweet. I don’t think Jelle understood one word I was telling him because he was just smiling and nodding the whole time. Maybe he just could’t hear me upstairs because the music was too loud. I hope he got some of the english I was conversing with him. On the other hand Andy understood everything, he spoke really good english. We talked about our ethnicities and drank vodka. I think they speak Dutch or something. But can’t wait to see them again. Or discover another dj, dj duo, or something that will get me hyped about their music.

p.s I just got back from LA and boy do I have crazy stories for you all!

xx

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

